“Because the text and discussions could make the students feel uncomfortable, they would often raise questions about its authenticity.  However, more often than not, chicanas and other women of color would resonate with understanding and personal identification- much like I did in 1981- because they felt validated.  Gloria’s words, to my surprise and joy, made it possible for chicanas and women of color in the class to change class dynamics by re-positioning themselves at the center.”

This quote shows a common theme that plays out between the 10 voices that are in the introduction.  This text provided a means for women of color to claim a voice and their identity.  I think the reason that this happens is due to the lack of diversity in the books we in the United States read in school.  In my experience, schooling consisted mostly of books written by white men.  I remember reading “The Bean Tree” my junior year in high school and just being blown away.  That book was the first that I had read that was written by a woman of color.  Even thought I am not of color, I remember how powerful and beautiful I thought the book was.  If I had that experience as a white woman having access to powerful moving books written by white women, I can only imagine how powerful this book is to chicanas.

This entry was posted in Directed Discussion/Reading Reflection 2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. kjcfalcon says:

    I like how this piece is personal – AnaLouise Keating writes in the Introduction to Interviews of an anecdote that she receives from Gloria Anzaldúa when she asks her to put herself into her writing. She writes in response to these notes:

    Although I was not suprised by Gloria’s suggestions, I groaned when I read them. Since I first met Anzaldúa almost ten years ago and asked her to read a chapter draft from my book in progress, she has encouraged me to put myself into the words I write. And still, I resist. My academic training, coupled with my love of privacy, make me fear self-disclosure. If I incorporate the personal into my words, perhaps I won’t be respected as a scholar…But one of the most important things I’ve learned from reading and teaching Anzaldúa’s works is the importance of risking the personal. (2000, pp. 1-2)

    Like we’ve mentioned in class, Anzaldúa’s personal writing style makes it something that we can easily relate to. I think your imagining of the connection between the words by women of color to women of color readers are important to illuminate – and it is clear that they have been very powerful for the women who write for the introduction to the Third Edition of Borderlands/La Frontera. I also appreciate your willingness to clearly position yourself as one who is outside this intimate space, but as someone willing to grant others the space to have these connections while finding respectful ways that you can engage with the text as a white woman.

  2. ejc1224 says:

    I agree that we need diversity in all levels of education, especially in the formative years. Adolescents take so much, not just from what they read, but how they see themselves in what they learn. Although this is true of people in general, if a young person cannot see themselves in the models that are provided for them, they do not form any connection to it, and so they lose interest. Is it any wonder that most drop-outs are people of color? They don’t see themselves in their own education and this is problematic. This is especially an issue for women, even more so for women of color. What hope do we have in this patriarchal society we live in? Some one has to start the process of representing everyone, and I believe that Anzaldua has done that.

  3. tassja86 says:

    I really liked the quote you pulled out Amy. I love Anzaldua’s work and I remember first reading the chapter on mestiza cosnciousness and wanting to cry because it spoke to me on such a deep, meaningful level. But when I try to explain that to people *cough* philosophy majors *cough*, its dismissed as ’emotional appeal’. I will take Anzaldua over Plato ANYDAY.

Leave a comment